Baby A is on the way!

20160703_133708.png

How far along? 15 Weeks

Baby Size? 4 inches and 2.5oz or the size of a pear

Total weight gain? About 5-7 pounds

Maternity clothes?  I really don’t NEED maternity clothes as I’m just starting to get a little bump. Most of my clothes still fit but it’s some of my pants that can be a bit uncomfortable. Some of my mom friends have passed along their belly bands which are useful! (I swear even non-pregnant women would appreciate this clothing concept/accessory on “fat days” or during that time of the month.) I do have a few maternity pieces I’m loving though. I’m deciding to embrace the belly instead of stuffing myself into clothes that make me feel blah.

Stretch marks? None in sight yet! I’m trying to be diligent about body lotion after every shower.

Sleep?  I’ve been sleeping mostly well, thank goodness! I’ve always been a great sleeper and the thought of that changing is a bit unnerving. My first trimester I was SO sleepy that I had no issues at all. I have noticed myself changing positions more throughout the night now. Savoring the sleep I can get for as long as possible!

Best moment this week?  Any week we have a doctor appointment is an exciting one! It took a little bit for the nurse to find the heartbeat which was a scary feeling but I guess baby was just bouncing around in there, like at our first ultrasound. We also traveled to Montana this week for Chris’ grandparent’s 60th anniversary. It was a fun family gathering with gorgeous surroundings. It kind of has me wanting to move.

Have you told family and friends? Yep! We told parents and immediate family on Mother’s Day at about 8 weeks, close friends around week 12 and announced on Facebook two weeks ago. So it’s safe to say the news is out and things are getting real!

Miss anything?  When we travel Chris always likes to visit the local breweries and I enjoy tagging along to check out their style and taste different craft brews. We went to three breweries while we were in Helena and I only had a tiny taste of a few beers from his flights. I would have loved a pint or two of a crisp wit or a flavorful porter! Also, it was vacation and we were socializing with family in the evenings so a few glasses of wine would have been had otherwise.

Movement? None yet, I don’t think. I was telling Chris the other night that lately I think I MAY feel something but that it’s hard to know if it’s just digestive movement or if it really might be the baby. Apparently it could be any time now, so I’m anxious to feel our little one!

Food cravings? Nothing really. Although, if I bought a Starbuck’s frappé every time I thought about wanting one, I’d probably have gained 10 more pounds by now. I feel like my appetite isn’t as big as I thought it would be, though I’m glad to be done with first trimester “need to have eaten 30 minutes ago” starvation pangs. Hopefully my appetite will grow as it should but for now I’m just eating what I can/feel like. I get a little guilty feeling sometimes but the doctor says follow my gut for now.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Mostly no. Sometimes the thought or sight of chicken makes me immediately lose my appetite but it’s not every chicken dish. Airplane turbulence is also a little more unsettling than before.

Have you started to show yet? Just in the last week or so I feel like I’ve started to show more. I wore a fitted shirt to work a few days ago and several people made comments. I was a little shy about it but it only gets bigger from here…!

Labor signs? Definitely not.

Belly button in or out? In. And I hope it doesn’t pop out too much when the time comes.

Wedding rings on or off? On for sure.

Happy or moody most of the time? Happy. So many more things run through my head on a daily basis now but I’m trying to enjoy each week. Definitely more emotional, and I already was a pretty emotional person.

Looking forward to? Planning our babymoon!

Sometimes it’s hard to believe we’re already a few weeks into our second trimester. I feel really lucky to have had such a smooth pregnancy so far. So many people are shocked that I haven’t been sick at all and have had only a few days or moments of not feeling well. Honestly, some days if I didn’t know I was pregnant I wouldn’t know the difference aside from being a little more round in the front. I’m sure that will change when I start to feel the baby though.

I feel like there are so many things we need to do and plan and that we’ll lose the time to get it all done but I suppose many new moms feel that way. I know everything will come together by December and I’m trying to embrace this season with the knowledge that God has such great things in store for us with this little blessing.

Leave a Reply

