June Birchbox for the Jetsetter

This month’s Birchbox theme was perfect for my two upcoming summer vacations so I’m just going to jump right into it:

20120617-224846.jpg

Comodynes Self-Tanning Intensive. This was the first time I have tried a tanning towelette and I say I’d give it a one thumb up. When I first pulled it out of the package I was surprised that it smelled pretty good and not like typical tanning products. I was also surprised that it was a white towelette and therefore went on clear. Initially, it felt like I was just wiping down with a baby wipe. A few hours later though, I noticed the tan beginning to appear and the tanning product smell emerging (I’ve decided it’s impossible to get away from that smell with any self-tanning product). I liked the tan the towelette gave but the only problem was that because it went on clear it was hard to tell whether or not it would streak. Overall it went on fairly evenly, but I noticed a few streaks on the underside of my arms. I’d use these for a trip, but for week to week tanning I will stick with my Body Drench Quick Tan lotion.

Eyeko Fat Eye Stick. My first try with this eye shadow I wasn’t too crazy about it because it seemed a bit dark for my day to day makeup. I usually use palettes of powder eye shadow so I honestly wasn’t sure how to use this creamy shadow. However, on Saturday night I decided to try it again before going out and now I really like it! Instead of spreading the color evenly on my whole lid like before, I used it as dark as it would go just as I typically apply my black eye liner and then dotted it and blended it in with some gold powder shadow lightly on the rest of my lid. It really brought out my eyes this way… Two thumbs up.

Likewise Facial Moisturizer + Sun Protectant SPF 50. This is perfect for traveling because my normal face cream with SPF is in a large container. It has the slight smell of sunscreen unlike my other face cream, but I actually enjoy the smell of sunscreen so it doesn’t bother me. It didn’t leave my face feeling oily after letting it dry before applying makeup either. Definitely an essential to have face cream with SPF, especially for my trips to the beach house on the Outer Banks and Puerto Rico this summer!

theBalm cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen. Despite trying this on two separate occasions on both my lips and cheeks, I just can’t seem to like it. This is a two-in-one lip and cheek gel stain. Although it does leave a nice color to both, it left my lips feeling dry and putting gel on my face just felt weird. I much prefer to stick with my powder blush and chapstick.

Lifestyle Extra: tili Bag. As silly and simple as this extra was, it’s totally useable for me! It will be great to put my toiletries in to go through airport security with my carry on. It’s so much cuter than a normal Ziploc bag too!

Man Extra: John Varvatos Star USA. I was super excited to get this man extra cologne in my box this month to share with the boyfriend. It’s described as a “blend of ginger, juniper berries and vetiver.” I’m interested to see how it smells once he tries it out, so I’ll update on this.

If you want to receive a Birchbox every month, click here to sign up!

4 thoughts on “June Birchbox for the Jetsetter

  1. My box was very similar! Haven’t tried the lip/cheek stain yet, disappointed that you didn’t like it.

    • You’ll have to let me know what you think of it once you try it! I don’t wear a ton of makeup in the first place so I didn’t like the extra later of gunk on my face.

Leave a Reply

