Tuesday Dinner Dates

I don’t know why I didn’t start this blog over a year ago when this weekly family tradition began, but I guess better late than never, right?

After graduating college, moving back to Houston, being busy with work and my social life, my mom began to complain about never seeing me despite living 15 miles apart and working less than 5 miles from each other. Complain is probably a strong word considering my mom has never really objected to my life of independence and full social schedule. But, I will admit, I missed my mommy too. So, sometime around February 2011, my mom, her boyfriend (Billy) and I started meeting once a week for dinner to catch up on each other’s lives. Somewhere within the month we decided to make it a Tuesday routine and decided that each week we would rotate turns picking a new restaurant around town that we had never tried. We have had some really great finds, others that were so-so and only one or two duds.

Anyway, enough about the back story! Each week, I will report back with our latest find in hopes of giving you guys some new restaurants to add to your “to-do” list. That’s one thing I love about this city, it never lacks in restaurants – the perfect place for a foodie!

This week we hit up Saint Dane’s in Midtown. The place was pretty crowded with only a few empty tables rotating out and is half “indoors” and half patio; great place for the nice patio weather we have been having lately. The crowd here seemed overall pretty young, 20s or 30s, but it is bar-like and located in Midtown, so that’s typical. They have specials everyday, but Tuesday was $1 taco night, so we definitely took advantage. The tacos were pretty yummy! Between all of us we tried all of the ones they had, except for the fish — chicken fajita, beef fajita, grilled shrimp and barbacoa. The chipotle mayo they top each taco with gave them a little kick too. Mom made a good call and ordered a basket of the fried green beans. Seriously killer. I would go back solely for beer and a basket of those to snack on. We got out of there with a bill under $35 and had very satisfied bellies. Looking over their other menu items, they had your typical bar food, but also had other items, like pork chops, that I would be interested in trying.

I give this place a two thumbs up. It was good on all fronts — drinks, food and atmosphere. I will definitely be going back with some friends.

Leave a Reply

